One month

It’s amazing how quickly time goes by. Today my son will turn one month old. One month ago I was pushing with all my might to bring this new life into the world. It just astonishes me that a whole month has passed.

I’ve survived the initial breastfeeding pain (again). Lived through sore, raw nipples and the shooting pain that can bring. I can’t believe it was only two weeks ago that I cringed every time Nick ate. Now I it’s like nothing to have him eat. I have even started to get up and move. I don’t like to do that, but with another one in the house it is an occasional necessity.

Nick has already grown out of some of his newborn clothing. He weighed in a whooping 8 lb 15 oz at birth and has already hit the 10 lb mark. He is so little but still so big (especially compared to big brother at this age). Last night he even wore a 3-6 month sleeper for a little while since all the others had gotten dirty. It was certainly still too big, but wasn’t as bad as I thought it should be.

Though it has definitely been difficult I am so glad to be a mother of two. Looking at my sons make me so happy. This morning Nick and I were cuddled up and I was about to feed him and he just started smiling. No one is really sure why babies so little smile. Often it happens as they are falling or waking from sleep. He won’t smile from visual cues for another month or so. Never the less, its a great feeling seeing this little guy smile.

I know my journey as a mother is still in the beginning and I just can’t wait to see what else it will hold!

This entry was posted in baby, breastfeeding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

