Nap time, Ugh!

Every parent makes mistakes, especially with your first child. One of my big mistakes was never teaching Jake to go to sleep in his bed alone.

We spoiled him. Jake started sleeping in a twin bed somewhere around 17 months or so. He could climb out of his crib and, it was just dangerous. Before the twin bed we would just lay him down in the crib and that would be that. Well, the twin bed threw everything off. One of us ended up having to stay in his room with him to get him to fall asleep. If we tried to leave he would cry, or simply just walk out of his room. Closing his bedroom door wasn’t even an option since he reacted to that as if he were being murdered!

I can’t tell you the number of times I laid in his bed thinking this is horrible and ridiculous! I can’t keep doing this, there has to be a better way. Now with an infant in the house I simply can not stay with him in his room anymore.

On Saturday I started having him do a little “quiet time” in his room. I was hoping to teach him to be able to be in his room alone with the door shut and also to fall asleep by himself. Well, it was far from quiet, with him screaming for the 5 minutes straight we did the first day.

Well, today for his afternoon nap I got him some milk, read him some books then said, “I love you Jake have a good nap,” kissed him and left his room closing the door behind me. Within 6 minutes he was sound asleep. It’s amazing that in less than a week getting him to bed has become easier.

So, I have both boys napping and a quiet house.

This entry was posted in sleep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nap time, Ugh!

  1. Dacia says:

    Congrats! It must be rough when Jake freaks out but I am happy to hear he is getting to the point he can fall asleep on his own. I don’t know how parents can go through some of the things they do- I guess you learn how to adjust. You should feel proud- todays nap is a big achievement!

  2. Bedtime update:
    Jake went to sleep last night after 14 min! Yay! Matt had a really hard time not going to him, but we survived.

Leave a Reply

