Deep breath

What a freakin’ day!!!

Today I had my 6 week postpartum doctors visit.

Two weeks ago I coordinated with a friend to watch Jake while I took Nick with me. Yesterday afternoon I got a phone call from the Youth and Teen center on base that there was a space open and that they could take Jake (I had been on the wait list). So, I canceled with my friend and was going to take Jake to the Y&TC.

Well, about 20 min before I leave the house this morning I remembered that Jake’s paperwork needed to be updated for the Y&TC. So I print the stuff out really quick and while nursing fill it out. Realizing that, SHIT, I need to have one of the forms notarized. Luckily I have last year’s packet still on file and they told me to do it all by the 18th so he should be fine.

I get on base get Jake, his bags, Nick and myself out of the van and to the building. I get Jake checked in and am off to the doctors. As I am parking they call me and tell me that I have to get Jake. The old POA expired on the 5th. DAMN!!! I turn my butt around and get Nick and myself out of the van AGAIN go inside get Jake and his bags and load the whole bunch back in the van…joy.

Drive back to the doctors and get both boys out. I didn’t bring my double stroller since I didn’t think I would need it. I am carrying Nick in his car seat and Jake is in a crappy umbrella stroller that refuses to turn half the time. What a site I was. I also was wearing my ugly flip-flops. I was wearing them this morning and was planning on switching them for cute shoes but left in such a hurry that I forgot.

I get to take a urine test to make sure I’m not pregnant. I didn’t think I was pregnant but I got an IUD placed so its policy to take one. Thank goodness Nick slept the whole time and Jake was an angel! I had to get a pap smear and have the IUD placed so I was on my back with my feet in stirrups. UGH!!!!!

Since Jake was such a good kid I told him he would get a special treat. We went through the Wendy’s drive thru and got a kid’s meal with a chocolate milk. That kid loves his chocolate milk, who am I kidding I love the stuff too. We get home, miraculously Nick is still sleeping. I bring Jake ane the food in really quickly and then go out to get Nick. This is where even more fun happens Jake locks the door while I’m out.

I try to get Jake to unlock it at first. No luck. Then I run (in flip-flops and slightly too big pants) to three of my neighbors houses. All of whom were not home. I run back to my place and take an extra few minutes to talk Jake through unlocking the door. My heart is pounding and I am trying to stay calm. He unlocks the door and I can breathe easy again.

After we all eat its time for Jake’s nap. He cried for 30 min when I put him down. Its agonizing having to listen to that!!! Every time I try to lay Nick down he only stays out for about 5 min.

Is is Thursday yet?

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

