Thoughtful Thursday

I realize that though I sit and think about things all the time, they aren’t always deep meaningful things. So, I am taking a cue from my friend D’s blog http://thirtythreeandcounting.com/ Today she also stole her post idea from someone else (http://jamesandjax.com/) who directed readers to http://www.marcandangel.com/2011/03/14/365-thought-provoking-questions-to-ask-yourself-this-year/?amp a list of 365 thought-provoking questions by Marc and Angel Hack Life.

D answered the first five so I thought I might take a stab at the last five.

360. What can someone do to grab your attention?

           I am easily distracted. To get my attention on a topic of importance I need to be kid free. I miss the adult conversation that I took for granted before children entered my life. I too quickly turn myself “off” from a subject if it isn’t interesting or Im busy. I need to take more time to listen and remember what other people tell me.

361. What do you usually think about on your drive home from work?

          I don’t work outside the home. When I drive I usually listen to NPR and have a chance to think about things that are happening around the world. All day I am usually completely absorbed in child rearing. When did they last eat? Is it nap time? How much I hate kids shows. What color is that, how many are there, etc.? When the boys are quiet in the car I get to listen to the radio and just think about things that don’t affect my everyday life. I get to hear about struggles that people are having or triumphs that they have accomplished. The morning news does not have cartoons so I rarely make it through a news cast. If I am free of the kiddos sometimes I enjoy just pondering the future. So many changes are going to happen in the next few years. My husband will most likely be getting out of the Marines, so our family will have a complete upheaval. Before then we will have to go through another deployment. They boys will grown and change so much in the next few years.
 
362. What’s one downside of the modern day world?
          Its far too fast paced. Don’t get me wrong I love the instant communication and the 24 hr news cycle can be a good thing occasionally. Sometimes its just nice to unwind. For my part I try to send handwritten letter to my Grandmother and other relatives every once in a while. Its a nice feeling to put pen to paper and write a letter. Its also a great feeling to receive one in return.

363. What simple fact do you wish more people understood?

          Kindness and patience are worth the trouble. Again with our fast paced world it is so easy to become inpatient and rude. We expect results and expect them NOW! I am no saint and have been guilty of that. Being kind to strangers is totally worth it! You feel better doing it and they also are positively impacted.

364. If you could do it all over again, would you change anything?

           No. There are things that I have said and done that I am not proud of. Moments that I should have said something else. Those moments are also what shaped me into the person I am today. If I hadn’t been so stupid in my past would my reality have come out differently? I love the life I am living now. No, it’s far from perfect but I am satisfied. Sometimes its hard to remember when you are in the middle of an awful day that really life is good. Im glad I did these questions today. I was definitely having a rough day but answering these q. are putting things in perspective.

365. How would you describe your future in three words?

         Exciting, uncertain, optimistic

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughtful Thursday

  1. Dacia says:

    I agree with you, the world is a little too fast paced sometimes. In some cases it is very helpful and satiates my need for instant gratification but it also makes us forget to stop and smell the roses. When I was putting together the package I sent you and one I sent for Jaime it was so nice to spend time looking for different things to buy and trying to come up with things for Jake and Nick. It was nice to be able to stop and focus on doing something for someone else, something you know will be appreciated- just like your hand written letters to your grandmother. You are so sweet!

Leave a Reply

