First Week Down!

I have successfully completed my first week back on Weight Watchers. This morning I weighed myself in and found that I have lost 6 lbs in this first week. YAY for me!! Last time I was on WW I lost a lot the first week. Kick starting my body into weight loss.  I also have already had a reduction of one daily PointsPlus value. That is ok though, most days I have trouble eating all of them and end up with too many at dinner time. On the plus side that allows me to have a bowl of ice cream a few nights a week, but I can always make is a smaller bowl.

Last time I was on WW I lost weight pretty consistently, but was almost always “loosing too much” with an average of 3-4 lbs a week instead of 2 lbs. Now that I am on the plan as a nursing mother I am only supposed to lose an average of 1 lb a week. Part of me wants to say “to hell with that” and lose more, on the other hand I don’t want to compromise my milk supply. I nursed for 11 months with my first son and never had a problem with supply or nursing in general. When Nick was born I realized that it had only been 15 months since I had stopped nursing Jake. My body definitely remembered exactly what to do and I have been able to nurse him without a problem.

I have to realize that my weight loss journey is a life long change to the way I view food. Food is there to provide sustenance and not rule my life. I can become obsessed with food. If I think of something yummy that I really would like I will often think about it for days until I can eat it.  I can become a mad women in search of sweets when the boys are down for a nap. I am still a “food sneaker”. I sneak food and don’t tell anyone about it. I eat it too fast and then feel guilty later. WW provides me with some accountability. I shouldn’t rush this process. This is not a diet with outlandish claims for instant weight loss.

Well, I am being summoned “come on Mom! Come on Mom” to go play. Have a great Monday!

This entry was posted in Health, weight watchers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Week Down!

  1. Dacia says:

    congrats! 6 pounds is crazy! Great job! I am so proud of you, a little jealous, but mostly proud. JK!

    I wish you nothing but the best of luck on your journey. I am so happy you have started this blog and share all of this with me and everyone else. Your success is a great motivator and it’s great to feel connected to your life! Great job!!!!

  2. Audrey says:

    holy crap, that is a lot of weight in one week!!! keep up the awesome work, wanna try a free week of booty camp with me??

Leave a Reply

