Thoughtful Thursday

Once again I am answering some questions from Marc and Angel hack life 365 thought-provoking questions. Somehow it always takes me all day to answer these. I guess they are doing their job.

When in your life have you been a victim of stereotyping?

I have been stereotyped a few times. In high school shopkeepers would watch me when I shopped because of the way I dressed. Throughout my life people have often assumed I was Latino and started speaking to me in Spanish. More recently being an officer’s wife had led to assumptions of being snobby, stuck up, and out of touch.

Throughout my life I have strived to be above stereotypes. Trying not to judge others. Sometimes it is harder said than done, but I’m glad to know that so many people who I have met don’t conform to stereotypes.

When was the last time you felt lucky?

Recently I won tickets to a preview of battle:la. I didn’t end up going since the baby was only a month old. We gave the tickets away to someone else. As I wrote previously I am a hound for free stuff. I enter lots of stupid sweepstakes and giveaways. I don’t often win, but I figure the more I try the more opportunities to win I have.

On a more serious note, I feel lucky everyday for my life, my health, my children, my freedom, my country, and more. There is so much sadness and atrocities that take place in this world. Whenever I hear about these terrible things I always find myself lucky.

When did you first realize that life is short?

I have known life was short for a while, but as I watch my parents, aunts, and uncles age it really is hitting home. I only have one grandparent left and she just moved in with my Mom.

My husband thinks I ponder the life and death of my relatives too much. I find myself thinking about what will happen as my parents age. How Jake will remember them. My maternal grandmother was always OLD to me. Will Jake and Nick feel the same way about my Mom? What is it going to be like when my relatives start to pass and we become the old folks. Already some of my cousin’s kids are in middle school. My little brother is getting married this summer. Everyone is aging!!

What is the most insensitive thing a person can do?

This question I have had a hard time answering. Merriam-Webster‘s definition of insensitive is a: not responsive or susceptible b: lacking of feeling or tact.

I feel that the worst thing a parent can be is indifferent. Indifference might also be the most insensitive thing you can do too.

What can someone do to grab your attention?

Say my name. I’m easily distracted so it is also easy to get my attention. I am forever looking at different things on the internet. My attention can be fleeting though.

This entry was posted in family, thought-provoking questions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

