Mean Lady

Yup, I guess that is me now. I’m the “mean lady.” Torturing and tormenting kids. Well, at least that is how I feel.

A few weeks ago the boys and I were at the park. When we arrived there were some older kids playing on the swings. They had thrown the seat over the top of the swings multiple times so the swings were about 4 ft off the ground. Arg! I hate when the older kids do this and then leave it like that for other people to fix.

So, I told them calmly “Make sure you guys put those back before you leave, so the little kids can swing too.” They did, but had some trouble with it. At one point they told me their friends had done it and had left them. I said “that stinks and they should give their friends a hard time next time they see them”. I didn’t help them because 1. I didn’t do it and 2. I had Nick in my homemade Moby wrap and really couldn’t jump up and throw the darn swings back into place.

So a few days later I saw the same kids at the park again. They live in the same neighborhood and I have seen them before at the park. Only this time they had brought their father with them, they usually come alone. At one point I saw them point me out to the dad. I was waiting the whole time for some sort of confrontation, but they left and never said boo to me.

Today, as I was walking back from our garden plot one of the boys and his mom were in their driveway hanging out. I smiled and kept walking past as I saw the kid tell his mom something. I’m sure he was telling her that I was the mean lady. I HATE being the mean lady.

I know I didn’t do anything wrong. I was not mean, or rough in the way I had talked to them. Whenever I think about it I feel bad though, because I am pretty sure I made those kids feel bad. Part of me wants to apologize to them, but I didn’t do anything wrong. They had been the ones who messed up the swings. I don’t see them at the park as often as I used to and I feel guilty about that, because I am afraid I am the cause. I’m the mean lady who drove the kids away and hurt their feelings. I’m the mean lady who told the kids to clean up after themselves. I’m the mean lady who feels guilty every time I think about it.

I’m the mean lady.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mean Lady

  1. Great post thanks for sharing. Family is something that I truly care about in life. You have a great blog here I enjoyed coming here today.

  2. Dacia says:

    You are not the mean lady- kids are just stupid. Not your of course, but other kids overreacting to you reasonably asking them to do something. I don’t think you are or will ever be the mean lady but just to be safe make sure you give out the really good candy at halloween this year 😉

  3. Dacia says:

    Not sure why, but I wasn’t able to leave a comment on your post from Wednesday. Out of curiosity, when you made the general tso’s chicken did you serve it over steamed rice or fried rice? also, do you know how many WW PP this is per serving? I want to try out the recipe too.

    • 7 pp per serving which I made to be about one cup. I love her recipies because it is easy to make it your own. There are no amounts for the chicken and veggies. I ended up using a little over a lb of chicken. If you change quantities of the ingredients you could lower the pp value. I served it over steamed brown rice. The fried rice would have been tasty, but I wasn’t willing to eat all the extra points

Leave a Reply

