Hire Me!

I am not currently seeking employment. Thankfully, my “only” job at the moment is to care for my children. Eventually, though I will work again. I was thinking about my resume while cooking breakfast. What skills I have acquired as a mother and military spouse.

Multitasking:

This morning I made pancakes. I always make Jake a Mickey Mouse pancake and usually one more shape that he asks for. Today, Nick was hungry and crying while I was trying to finish cooking the last few pancakes. So, I made Jake his truck pancake while nursing on my right side. Oh yes, I can multitask. Pour, flip and serve a pancake with my left hand (I’m right-handed) while nursing.

Communication:

I speak “toddler”. “Am fall, car bump head, go inside yard” translation ” My ambulance fell down after the cars crashed into each other. I want to go outside and play in the backyard.”

Interpersonal Skills:

I can and will put a smile on my face even though your kid is crazy annoying and is yelling at my kid. I will listen to you complain about your significant other’s weekend business trip away while my husband is gone for 7 months defending our country, and not rip your head off. I will help plan functions and get togethers when my husband is away to help the time go by faster.

Problem solving:

I can take in a situation and make effective clear decisions. Like while I am nursing and my toddler takes off his poopy diaper and tries to dump it on the floor, I can stop him, clean up the poop, wash hands (mine and his), get him dressed while still nursing (see also: multitasking).When we are out of bread and PB & J is requested I will be resourceful and make it on saltine crackers. then it is also an adventure in eating instead of a disaster.

Those skills only touch the surface. So, as you can see I will be a very desirable candidate for employment. Of course, I might not be using all those examples in an interview.

This entry was posted in baby, breastfeeding, family, food, military spousehood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hire Me!

  1. This is hilarious, awesome, and true. I would hire you in a second.

  2. Dacia says:

    This is my favorite post so far. You are an amazing person and mother and it shows in how you have raised your family and in your support and love for your husband. I know it is hard sometimes but you always make the best out of a crappy situation. You are resourceful and quick-thinking and you do it all without complaints or expectations. You are truly amazing!

    • You are so kind! Anyone can be “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” Its harder some days than others, but I find life is so much better is you can laugh about your situation. Especially since moving to Australia isn’t an option for me.

  3. Mom says:

    Em you are awesome! (and very skilled)

Leave a Reply

