Birthday CAKE!!!

Last week I turned a year older. As always my son Jake kept me laughing throughout the day.

While we were eating breakfast I told Jake that it was Mommy’s birthday. He immediately answered with “I wanna EAT CAKE!!!!” Every birthday should have a cake I guess. Possibly not at 7:30 in the morning though.

It was in the middle of the week so we didn’t do too much. The boys and I went out for lunch. My crazy free stuff addiction was satiated. Used some free coupons for birthday food.

I got a pleasant surprise from my Mom. A beautiful mini-rose bush. I haven’t killed it yet.

Beautiful Yellow Roses from my Mama

Over the weekend Matt cooked a yummy dinner and cake for me. Jake was happy since he finally got cake. It was a nice weekend spending time with family.

Isn’t it funny how our expectations of birthday’s change over time. You have no idea what is going on during your first birthday. Then as each year passes during your childhood you expect more and more. It HAS to be the best day! Then I counted down the years until I was a teenager. Of course then that wasn’t enough and I wanted to be 16 so I could drive. Then 18 so I could vote and buy my own cigarettes (glad I broke that habit). Those next three years waiting to legally drink seemed to take a  while.

Now, there really isn’t a birthday I look forward to or dread. Not yet. I guess we shall see how I feel in 3 years when I turn 30. Matt turns 30 this year and is not looking forward to it. I have a feeling I won’t be freaking out. I can always tease Matt for being older than me…muahahahahaaha

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday CAKE!!!

  1. Dacia says:

    Happy Birthday Kathleen. I hope you got my message last week! Sorry I couldn’t call. I hope Matt bought you some wonderful gifts! He is lucky to have you 😉

Leave a Reply

