Wupdate Wednesday

I wanted to have a fun post title, unfortunately update starts with a u!

Last week I did a happy dance. It is official. I weigh less than my husband!!!! I can also wear his jeans, they are snug but they zip up. Yay!!!! For the most part I have always been bigger than him. I still look bigger since we now are close in weight, and I am 7 inches shorter than him. I try not to be self deprecating about my size. As a military spouse I am always meeting new people. I used to dread these things. I am an outgoing, social butterfly, but I was embarrassed of my look. I don’t have the cute new clothes. I have NEVER been a fashion diva. I have always had friends help my outfits. I also, have always been larger than my husband. When I would meet his work mates I always wondered if they though, “Damn look at his wife, she is huge!” In the last few years as I have lost weight and become more confidant I don’t feel that as much, but it still haunts me from time to time. The start of weight watchers (jan 10) 207 lbs, as of Monday 176 lbs, goal weight 134 lbs. 31 lbs off, only 42 more to go!

In the first four months of the year I finished two books. In the first three weeks of this month I have finished one and half books. My friend loaned me The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. What a great book! It is a series of short stories that are all about a newspaper. Ok, that might sound boring, but it’s very hard to put down once you start. After I flew through that I started reading a collection of Miss Marple stories by Agatha Christie. My mom had left the book here last time she visited. Today I am off to the library to pick up a new book. I love reading! (super dorky and I love it)

Over the weekend I went for a run. How I love to type those words out. I was getting super frustrated within my house, so I put Jake in the jogging stroller and off we went. I ran 1.5 miles and walked about .5 miles. We stopped at the grocery store in the middle to pick up the one ingredient that Matt was missing for his chili. I don’t love running. In college I was in Army ROTC and HAD to run 3 days a week. I disliked HATED it then, but now that it is not mandatory I almost enjoy it. I am on the hunt for a good double jogging stroller (that isn’t $500) if anyone has suggestions.

I have been trying some new excercise out recently. I subscribe to Time Warner Cable. They have a channel called excercise TV on Demand. With this I have tried out two yoga and on circuit training video. I have been trying to fit a workout in while Jake is napping. Monday he woke up with about 15 minutes left on my yoga workout, so it became yoga/jungle gym mom workout. I don’t suggest this method, the extra 30 lbs on my back really affected my form.

Our garden has been doing well. We are going to have enough summer squash to feed the whole neighborhood! The watermelon and onions are doing well. I had some left over green bean seeds from last year and planted those on a whim, and they are growing. Maybe I will get some beans too! My friend recently received a mystery package which had a lawn gnome in a Marine Drill Instructor uniform. Later she found out her husband had gotten it to help protect her plants from the rabbits that kept “invading”

Garden Plot 5.11.11My friend's plot protected by Drill Instructor GnomeMy friend's plot protected by Drill Instructor Gnome

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

My friend's plot protected by Drill Instructor Gnome

This entry was posted in family, garden, goal, Health, weight watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wupdate Wednesday

  1. Latina Barbi says:

    OMG 176!! I can’t wait to be that light…I started at 217 and down to 195..
    YAY both of us!! MUAH!

  2. Dacia says:

    Congrats Kathleen! You are doing great. It sounds like you have a great week; running, reading, weighing less than Matt (I cannot wait for the day I weigh less than Paul), gardening and your birthday last Thursday. Good for you! Thanks for always being my inspiration!

    • Thanks! I was talking about weighing less than Matt a little too much over the weekend…lol. He said he is going to have to lose weight too. NoooO!!!!! is what my response was…hehe.

Leave a Reply

