Home Sweet Home

I know I have been MIA lately. We just got back from a 2 1/2 week trip to Florida, both Matt and my families are there. We had a great trip. Only three people had met Nick before the trip, so we got to show off our beautiful baby boy. My little brother got married to a wonderful woman. We visited with all our family and even threw a surprise 30th birthday party for my husband. He was really surprised since his birthday is over a month away. I will write more about my trip in posts to come.

I almost completely disregarded everything I learned doing Weight Watchers. I ate a bunch of junk and worked out very little. Amazingly the entire trip I only went up a total of .5 lbs. Before the wedding, I was better about my diet and activity level. I wanted to make sure I still looked good in my bridesmaid dress.

My kids routines were also completely thrown off. The first week and a half there were a lot of pre-wedding and wedding events and a trip to my father’s place all squeezed in. A lot of family time and gatherings. Memorial day celebrations. We had less planned at my in-laws house, but still there were quite a few late nights and some missed naps. We don’t have a very strict schedule at home, but nap and bed times usually start within thirty minutes each day. Not having that led to a cranky 2 year old. I will be honest, I lost track of Nick’s schedule all together. We had just been getting into a routine with him before we left. I reverted back to nursing all the time and napping whenever. He also was held a lot by a bunch of family. I feel that can be more exhausting for him. Everyone plays with and hold an infant differently.

Yesterday we left my in-laws house at 2 am EST to drive 3 hrs to the airport. We arrived home around 11 am PST, 12 hours later. What a looong tiring day.

It was a great trip, but Im glad to be home in our own house. Suitcases are all unpacked. A little cleaning to do, but mostly I can veg out the rest of the day. Ahhh, home sweet home.

Every vacation needs a half naked kid covered in ice cream.

This entry was posted in baby, breastfeeding, family, Health, weight watchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

