Weight Watchers Update

Yesterday, I weighed in at 169.6 lbs for a 1.8 lb loss. Only 19.6 lbs until my post summer goal weight. 34.6 lbs until my final goal weight. I can do this! (that is what I keep telling myself)

My daily points allowance has changed a lot this week. I am a little nervous. My secret weapon in my weight loss so far has been nursing my son. For the first 4 1/2 months of his life I have been exclusively nursing him. In the last two weeks we have been introducing him to solid foods. For those non-parents out there the “solid food” consists of very watery rice cereal at first.

The Points Plus program allots your points value based on your age, weight, and if you are breastfeeding or not. Yesterday, I changed my weight watchers profile from “only breastfeeding” to “breastfeeding with solid food.” Nick is eating two meals a day. Changing my breastfeeding status adjusted me down 7 daily points. SEVEN!!!!! I was slightly terrified. Generally with Weight Watchers as you lose weight your points value decreases one point at a time. Yesterday I was able to eat my points and not starve or deprive myself. I was relieved and now have a slightly less terrified attitude about it.

I have been mentally preparing myself to be O.K. with eating more of my activity points and my weekly points allowance (WPA). I haven’t been dipping into my weekly points most weeks. I use up my activity points instead. I feel better about using those. I earned them. On the other hand I feel like I am doing something wrong if I use my WPA. I know they are there for using.

This week, I am going to try to continue being active and eat without worrying too much. I know if I make good choices and be aware of what I put in my mouth it will all work out.

 

This entry was posted in baby, breastfeeding, goal, weight watchers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers Update

  1. Dacia says:

    You are doing great. I know it must be a big adjustment to lose those extra points from nursing but in a few weeks you will be adjusted to it and it will be no big deal. Great job!

Leave a Reply

