3rd Grade Homework

Happy Fourth of July!!

Last week I finished the book “The Wordy Shipmates” by Sarah Vowell. Even after finishing the book I am not sure if I actually enjoyed it or not. I know, that sounds odd, but the truth none the less.

It is an account of John Winthrop and others who came with the Massachusetts Bay Company over to America to start a new life. A book about Puritans and Winthrop’s vision of building “a city on a hill.” There was some interesting history that I learned. I knew the basics before, and I feel that I have a better handle on the time period.

At the same time Vowell, is well, a bit annoying. She kept jumping from history to the present. Talked about herself, family, tv sitcoms, and the like. Also, she inserts her political views, which I don’t always agree with.

Yet, I read the whole thing. Somehow she kept drawing me back in. The history was interesting. The quotes from sermons and letters I enjoyed.

Here is the link to the New York Times review of the book. I agree with the review.

You might have noticed my pattern of non-fiction/fiction books so far this year. With that being said, the next book I started is “The House of Spirits” by Isabel Allende. I have only finished the first chapter so far, but am already enjoying the book.

This entry was posted in books, goal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3rd Grade Homework

  1. Latina Barbi says:

    Are we doing Mira Mar Lake this Saturday?

Leave a Reply

