Breastfeeding

I am no expert at breastfeeding. I only have my own experiences with my two children. Here are a few things I have learned along the way:

  • For me, it usually easier to pump breast-milk while nursing on the other side. It is however, not easier when your child is grabbing the pump with his feet trying to rip it out of your hand.
  • Shirts can get in the way.
  • Have you ever seen a cow nursing? I saw it at the fair while pregnant with my first. They periodically buck their little heads up and hit the utters. Ow! My son occasionally squeezes the tar out of my breasts while nursing. I guess some things are universal.
  • “Don’t cry over spilled milk”? No, a tear can be shed after you spent 20 minutes working hard to get 2 ounces only to have an ounce fall out while labeling the container.
  • Don’t let your curious toddler have a taste of nursing when they haven’t done it in over a year, they have more teeth and it hurts! (luckily not from personal experience)
  • For the first few months don’t forget your nursing pads when wearing anything you don’t want breast-milk stains on.
  • Enjoy your extra cleavage while it is still here, it will all disappear.
  • It is amazing how far you can shoot out milk. Ok, I have a weird sense of humor, but I this always cracks me up.
  • Never be embarrassed to feed your child. It is 100% natural. You are doing the best thing for your child. Just don’t be surprised when all the guys in the room leave when they realize what you are doing under that cover…hehe

I hope if you are able to breastfeed your child you do. I know it is not for everyone. I loved breastfeeding my eldest son and am enjoying feeding my younger boy too. It is certainly a bumpy road but a road that is well worth traveling.

Happy Nursing!

This entry was posted in baby, breastfeeding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breastfeeding

  1. jamesandjax says:

    This post brings back memories of nursing a little one. I’m nursing a toddler now, and it is SO not the same. It’s actually pretty crazy most of the time, what with the acrobatics and all. I had forgotten, until reading this, all about leaky boobs and pumping and spilled milk and all those things!

Leave a Reply

