Movie…What was I thinking?

I don’t have any experience with the “civilian” side of life. I married young to my Marine husband (as many military stories start). The military lifestyle has its ups and downs. One advantage is that there are often events that the units do for their families. This week we had two fun events to go to. How quickly a fun event can turn with two small children.

Tuesday night we went to a Back to School event. Yes, I know my kids are going to school, and we didn’t nab any of the free stuff (which went completely against my nature). We went for the free dinner and showing of Cars 2.

This was the second attempt to have Jake see Cars 2 in a theater. Hubby took him opening weekend, but somehow got there too early for a 3D showing. He only made it about 20 minutes into the movie.

During this attempt hubby’s unit had the whole theater to themselves, and there were only about 80 people in a theater that can hold at least 200. So, when Jake got antsy after the first 15 minutes or so I let him run around the back half of the empty theater and walked around with him. It wasn’t all that bad.

I eventually got tired of the running around while carrying Nick around with me. I ended up leaving with the boys early. Afterward I figured we ducked out with 20 minutes left. Maybe we should have stuck around. Oh well. Hubby wanted to see the end since this was his second go so he stayed behind.

Oh, I forgot to mention Jake skipped his nap that day which made for a hyper unruly 2 year old running around…

By the time I had gotten home Jake was out and Nick was fussy. Laid Jake down then tended to Nick who didn’t go to bed until after 10 pm and was up half the night. My sleep for the rest of the week has not gotten better either.

I don’t know how working mother’s do it. I am so tired and dragging ass in the morning. Well, I guess that is a post for another day.

Happy Friday! Sleep in for me if you get the chance 😉

This entry was posted in family, free stuff, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

