Co-Sleep

I have been writing the following post for about a week now. I hope I get this published today (Friday). đŸ˜‰

I co-sleep with my children sometimes. My husband and I open our beds to them. Sometimes, I just need some sleep. I don’t like to admit to others that we bed share. I try my hardest to keep my little one in his crib. He always starts his night out in the crib. When he wakes I usually head to the rocking chair and nurse him, then either fall asleep in the chair or get him back to his crib. I hate when I fall asleep in that chair.

Luckily, our 2 1/2 year old goes to sleep in his bed and generally sleeps in his bed. Occasionally he will join us at 5 am and sleep the last few hours in our room, but that happens maybe once or twice a month, not so bad.

As with most parenting decisions there are different opinions on bed sharing. Other than this blog, I often keep my parenting choices to myself. To often when you do share what you think/do there is someone there to tell you how wrong it is, or how you are warping your child into something negative by the choice you make. I am going to venture out there and say most parents have heard comments about their choices for their own children.

Heck, as a baby, I started walking at 8 months. My Mother was told to put weights on me to stop the walking because it was too early, and that I would end up bow-legged. She disregarded that “helpful” hint and my legs turned out just fine.

Here is some good news for co-sleepers out there. We are not setting our kids up for failure. Earlier this month James & Jax Blog’s Facebook Page posted a link to Coming out of the bed sharing closet article from the Today Show. I am glad she did.

I know there are a lot of others who co-sleep. I have a friend, T, who not only shares her bed with her husband, but also her 3 and 1 year old children. I have a hard time sleeping with my 2 yr old in the bed. Feet to the face and what not, but this set up works for her and her husband. I used to think she was a bit crazy for having her kids in bed with her. On the plus side for them, no waking up in the middle of the night. Her kids sleep well and for a long time.

So, Moms and Dads out there. Do you co-sleep? Do you sleep better or worse with your kids in bed?

This entry was posted in baby, family, sleep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Co-Sleep

  1. jamesandjax says:

    Hey! Thanks for the shout-out!
    I’m a proud part-time co-sleeper. Like you, I have my son start out the night in his crib. But when he wakes up, my husband brings him to me in bed. I don’t have the energy to rock him back to sleep and put him in the crib again. Call it laziness, maybe. I’m just too damn tired.
    I blogged today about judgy moms. They suck. I hope you’re not getting grief about co-sleeping! Or anything, for that matter!

    • I end up being outspoken online and quiet in person. I know I am the best mom for my kids, but others can make me feel differently. Ill check out your post. “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.”

Leave a Reply

