Refreshed

This is a warning. This post might contain information that you do not want to know. It deals with feminine grooming. You are forewarned.

This is how I felt the other day:

“My vagina feels like it is on fire. You did read that right. My lady parts feel like they are on fire. What we women do to look good. If you haven’t guessed it yet, I went and got a Brazilian wax. Damn you Brazilian wax, Damn you!”

My poor lady parts looked sad, red, a little blotchy. Yes, there was even a teeny tiny drop of blood in my undies. Today, things are looking good. I no longer look like I have been assaulted. Yay! 😉

This was not my first wax, I have inflicted this torture on myself on more than one occasion. I never thought I would say this, but in this one instance I missed the extra fat I have lost. That cushion was helpful during past beatings waxings. This was my first time with actual wax though. I go to a great Indian owned shop Beauty by Dolly that does threading and waxing. The owner, Dolly, uses a homemade natural wax, they call sugar. This stuff does not leave your skin red or blotchy. It also, I found out yesterday, isn’t quite as effective as the regular wax. As there was no need to get stray hair afterward.

So, you might wonder why I would do what sounds so incredibly ouchy. Really, the next day I feel great. I can wear a bathing suit and not worry about that area…lol. This is part of my effort to take some time out for myself. I got a babysitter for 3 hours. Some of you might think that isn’t very long, but I felt a little guilty being gone that long. I ran some errands, got a haircut, got a coffee, waxed, and then was able to have a nice quiet lunch with my hubby.

We met up at the O’Club on base and there were some of his co-workers with their families eating lunch too. The guys had just got back from being out-of-town. It was nice to say, sorry having a little mid-day date and eat on our own. We ate outside, the weather was great. I could hear the little ones inside once or twice while we sat and talked and I thought how nice it was not to have to tend to kids and try to keep them quiet.

Overall, I felt refreshed and relaxed when I got home. That was a left-over night for dinner so I didn’t even have to worry about cooking when I got home.

Overworked people everywhere, remember to take some time for your self here and there. It’s amazing how much better you can feel.

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Refreshed

  1. Latina Barbi says:

    Was that your first one? I’m SOOO scared to get one! muah!

    • It wasn’t. It is one of those things, that you know is going to be bad, but will get better. I really like that place. I used to see Dolly, but saw her sister this time. They are very, very nice people. Make you feel at ease. If you want to get one, I would recommend this place. They also, have been nominated for the A-list again. Check out their website.

  2. *The opinions are my own. I have not received any compensation for my vies.

  3. Not sure I should ask this, but I’ll give it a whirl – what is threading?

    • Threading is an ancient practice of hair removal. This is from the website of Beauty by Dolly mentioned above:

      “A common practice in the far east is catching on fast in America. Threading is fast and fairly economical compared to other forms of hair removal. The process involves a piece of strong thread held on various fingers and the thumb. Moving the twisted string in an orderly manner over the hair causes the removal of hair from the follicle on any area of the body including the face and leaves a smooth finish. The whole process usually is faster than other forms of hair removal.”

Leave a Reply

