Home Sweet Home

I am a military spouse. I don’t talk about it often here on the blog. For me, writing about my journey as a mother brings me joy.

Military life definitely provides a lot of ups and downs; long hours, time apart, great benefits, pride.

Today, I just want to take a moment to say thanks to everyone currently deployed and their families. I feel very lucky that my husband is not deployed right now. A unit that he served with previously is having their homecoming today.

I am thinking about all those families who couldn’t sleep a wink last night because they were just to excited. All those kids who have been waiting 7 months to see Daddy or Mommy. All the wives who went to get a fresh haircut and nails done, even though their husbands probably won’t notice. Thinking about the men and women who have been wearing the same stinky clothes for the last 7 months (those washers never work right!) waiting, and waiting and waiting to see their families, hoping the kids remember them. I am thinking about Fathers meeting their newborns for the first time. I am thinking about all those things.

Welcome Home all of you! Thank you for your service, thank you for your sacrifice.

Thank you.

This entry was posted in military spousehood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. Dacia says:

    What a great post. Brought tears to my eyes. Thank you!

  2. yes, crying right now, but thank you for reminding me of what all sides of the family are feeling

  3. Just got home from the delayed homecoming I wrote about earlier today. I got goosebumps and teary-eyed and my husband wasn’t even one of those guys.

Leave a Reply

