Homemade Pizza

Since I went off and ranted about how I like to cook things from scratch I thought I would share my homemade pizza recipe. The kids and hubby enjoy it and it is less greasy than commercial kind.

First, put 3 cups of Flour, 3/4 tsp salt, and one packet of rapid rise yeast into a bowl and mix.

Then add 2 TBS of olive oil and mix.

Next slowly add 3/4 to 1 C of hot water to make a dough ball. Cover, set aside for 10 min. to rise.

While the dough is rising chop up yummy veggies for your pizza. I used mushrooms, onion, bell pepper and garlic.

Also, you can grate some cheese, if you have forgotten to buy pre-shredded mozzarella and only have a block of cheddar in the house. 😉

Roll out your dough. I use plain tomato sauce then season it with oregano, parsley, basil, and whatever else sounds good at the time. Use whatever sauce you would like and add your toppings and cheese. Usually I use three cheeses: mostly Italian blend, and then a little cheddar and Parmesan. I like to put some oregano on top of the cheese for more flavor.

Put pizza in a 400 degree oven for 20-30 minutes. Don’t worry about cleaning out your oven before you take a photo to share with the world. I end up cooking the big pizza 20 min. and smaller ones 10-15 minutes.

The little ones probably could have been taken out earlier. I have Jake put whatever toppings he would like on his little pizza.

I also made two more pizza’s from the dough. This is a simple recipe that I enjoy to make. It doesn’t take too long start to finish, so in the time you are waiting for a delivery guy to show up you could whip this bad boy up and feel good about yourself instead of self loathing. Ok, maybe its just me after paying so much for pizza and tip.

This entry was posted in food, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Pizza

  1. love homemade pizza!!! so glad you make yours with olive oil, I think it makes all the difference!!

  2. kitchentutor says:

    High five for cooking from scratch EVEN when you don’t have every single ingredient you had planned on… cheese!! Love it and looks soooo yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

