On my nightstand 2012 edition

Last year I must have been a good girl. Santa brought me a Kindle Fire. I was very, very excited. I have already finished my first book and am reading a second on it.

Last year I had an open-ended goal to read good books. This year I hope to do a little more. I would like to read at least 20 books this year. If my kids were older and needed less supervision I might shoot for more, but we shall see how it goes. I don’t want to just read 20 short books and call it a day. I really enjoy reading so, I am hoping to get some good ones in there.

I want to read some, classic literature, and a mix of fiction and non-fiction.

So far, I have read:

1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

And am working on

2. Dracula by Bram Stoker

3. Decision Points by George Bush

I flew through The Hunger Games, Catching Fire is the second book in the series. I enjoyed it immensely and can’t wait to read the last installment. If you have been reading my blog you know that I have been reading Decision Points for a while now. It is interesting, but I haven’t been motivated to read it. It is not a library book, so there is no due date to push me.

As for Jake, he has been enjoying the artwork of Richard Scarry. He enjoyed the Animal Nursery Tales  so much that I ended up buying it. Yay, internet for allowing me to buy a book published 30 + yrs ago for less than $15. He has also been making up titles to books he wants us to read. The last few nights he has wanted a story about “The Cat and the Loaf and the T-Rex.” A naughty cat, bad loaf (of bread) and a mad T-Rex. The imagination of a three year old is a wonderful thing!

Do you have any reading goals for the year? What is your all time favorite book that I MUST read? Are your kids reading anything noteworthy?

This entry was posted in books, goal, kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On my nightstand 2012 edition

  1. Aarom says:

    It all depends. What kind of books suck you in? So far the ones that I have read this year include
    The Overton Window and the last installment in the Inheritance Cycle.

    Last book of Hunger Games is Amazing by the way.

    • They both sound interesting. I haven’t read any of Glenn Beck’s books. I am not a huge fan of him, but am always willing to check out a book. I have seen the cover for Inheritance Cycle more than once, but “bad me” judged a book by its cover. I will check them out. Thanks!

  2. Emily C says:

    I have a three year old and a second on the way so I completely understand about the not having the time you would like to read. I don’t have a reading goal for the year but I should probably make one so I stay on track. I loved the Hunger Games as well and need to read the other two books in the series. Good luck!!

  3. Latina Barbi says:

    My all time favorite… The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho! muah!

  4. I like to read Pride & Prejudice every year, love me some Mr. Darcy 😉

    If you’d like another YA adventure, I’d say give the immortal instruments a try http://cassandraclare.com/cms/home they are a lot of fun

    Normally I’m a book a week reader, but the busier my kids get the harder that becomes

    I know you enjoy the library, make sure you look into your elibrary!!

Leave a Reply

