On my Nightstand 2.6

I am continuing my goal of reading this year and checked out the last book of the Hunger Games series.

I quickly devoured  Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Finished it in a little under 24 hours. It was wonderful. The whole series seems a bit dark for a youth book. There is death, and suffering. It keeps you intrigued. I can’t wait for the movies to come out. I always enjoy comparing what mental images I have for characters to the actors they cast.

I am still reading George Bush’s book. The more I read, the harder a time I have. There area chapters devoted to Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Surge. I like reading military histories, but this is more about what happened behind the scenes for each decision. Not the most riveting stuff. Yes, it is interesting, but I am pushing myself to read it. Close to 100 pages left. 🙂

Dracula, is a whole other story (pun intended 😉 ). I am really enjoying this one. I just haven’t been focusing my attention on it. It is very captivating. I can only imagine how much scarier it would have been to read not knowing Dracula is a vampire, oops, hope I didn’t spoil it for you.

The last two times we went to the library we have checked out Rosemary Wells books for Jake. Her books inspired the show Max & Ruby that Jake is so very fond of. He really likes to read her books about bunnies. The whole walk home from the library he just would flip through each book and show his brother the pictures.

Is there a show or movie that you/your kid enjoys based on a book? Have you read the book? How do they compare?

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On my Nightstand 2.6

  1. The Harry Potter series, Inkheart, Narnia. We’ve read all the books and have watched the available movies. Typically, the book is better than the movie, with the notable exception of Chamber of Secrets.

    • I agree. It is impossible to get everything a good book has into a movie. I end up liking the movies more when I see them first and let the book fill in details, but I try to read the books first. Never read Inkheart, or Narnia books, might have to add them to my list.

Leave a Reply

