CACO

I am sitting at my desk, teary eyed. For those of you out there who are affiliated with the military, those four letters above might be the things that haunt your dreams.

CACO: Casualty Assistance Calls Officer

These are the guys that show up at your door when your spouse has died…or injured. They don’t only deal with death, but that is the number one thing associated with them. That terrifying dream when two men in uniform show up at your door.

Right now my husband is at home. Sure, accidents happen stateside, but for the most part he is out of harms way. Eventually he will deploy again.

I am going to a class about CACO soon. To learn more about it, to debunk myths associated with it.

Every email I get to remind me of the class, just makes me want to cry. I feel like I have gotten kicked in the gut.

When my hubby gets home tonight, I am going to give him an extra long hug.

This entry was posted in family, military spousehood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CACO

  1. Oh gosh! I can’t imagine how hard that would be!

  2. My heart aches thinking about the families that get those visits. Please give your DH an extra hug again tonight!!! and here is yours (((hug)))

Leave a Reply

