Happy Hair

“I’m not offended by all the dumb-blonde jokes because I know that I’m not dumb. I also know I’m not blonde.” ~Dolly Parton

I read the Freshly Pressed blogs from time to time on the WordPress homepage. Sometimes I find a gem that I really enjoy. Today I read the post The Grass is Always Greener On Someone Else’s Head…Or is It? by Tales from the Motherland. It made me think about my hair and some of my friends and families hair.

I don’t think of my hair often. I am not one to take time to fix my hair often. I am half Japanese and have inherited silky black hair. It has just a slight amount of body to it. If I stop to think about it I am so lucky. It is just the kind of hair I need. Hair that I can throw easily in a ponytail and forget. I don’t have to brush it everyday even though now it is almost down to my bra line. I can just run my fingers through it and its ready to go.

My sister has beautiful hair. Its difficult hair, but definitely beautiful. It is bright red (more orange) and super, super curly. Growing up people would often comment on her hair. Actually, it is hard to think of any outing that didn’t include some stranger coming up to her and asking, “Where she got that hair”, or “Oh look, Little Orphan Annie.” She hated her hair for a long time. I’m not sure if she truly loves it now but owns it.

As I read Motherland’s post I got to really appreciate my hair. There are so many women out there who are unhappy with their hair. Coveting others around them.

What do you think about your hair?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Hair

  1. Really enjoyed your post here! I don’t have the patience to grow my hair long, but yours sounds beautiful. Thanks also for noting my post (Grass is always Greener). My blog name is Talesfromthemotherland (not Motherland) as in Tales from the Motherland… I appreciate you reading my material and enjoyed yours! Dawn
    http://talesfromthemotherland.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/the-grass-is-always-greener-on-someone-elses-head-or-is-it/

Leave a comment